Helensville MP, Chris Penk opens Sculpture Gardens 2019 Exhibition

Sunday 9th December saw Chris Penk, the MP for the Helensville Electorate, open the 2019 Exhibition at the Kaipara Coast Plant Centre and Sculpture Gardens just North of Kaukapakapa.
The event attracted over 100 people who thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon with many complimentary comments being forthcoming regarding both the event and the Gardens.
In his opening speech Chris highlighted the diversity and imaginative nature of the exhibits as well asthe magnificent setting in which they are being displayed. He also commented on how art reflects the many different facets of life using a number of humorous analogies including some Parliamentary ones.
He also spoke of how lucky the area is to have such a wonderful facility in such close proximity and thanked all the participating artists, organisers and staff for their efforts in making the exhibition possible.
Thanks were also offered by owner David Bayly and the new exhibition curator Shea O’Neil to everyone involved as well as to the outgoing curator Sally Lush who has been putting together the exhibition since its inception 11 years ago and has now moved on to a new challenge in Whangarei.
Many of the contributing artists were also at the event to answer questions and explain their work.
The event also included some delightful finger food and light refreshments served by the staff throughout the afternoon as well as music performed by local singer/guitarist Ben Bradley and which could be heard throughout the garden. This, combined with the very accommodating weather, ensured a relaxing and very successful opening event.
Exhibition History & Details:
The sculpture gardens, which opened in 2008, have been developed in conjunction with Kaipara Coast Plant Centre which has been owned and operated by David and Geraldine Bayly from this site since 1988.
The Sculpture Trail is open to the public 364 days a year and features a 2km garden and forest trail showcasing more than 40 vibrant and diverse sculptures by emerging and established New Zealand and international artists which are renewed in November every year.
Contributing artists for this years’ exhibition include:
Glen Colechin; Rebecca Rose; Blair Logan; Christian Nicolson; Cinzah Merkens; Fiona Henderson; Jim Elliss; Jo May; Oriah Rapley; Sen McGlinn; Sonja van Kerkhoff; Yelz, Zoe Nash; Colin Wightman; John Mulholland; Kaukapakapa Venturers; Maggy Johnston; Mandy Cherry Joass; Karen Sewell; Larisse Hall; Simon Gray; Gaye Jurisich; Jan Simmons; Vaimoana Eves; Aaron Frater; Ema Frost; Component; Rustic Twist; Kerstin Hedström; Canny Creations; Louise Purvis; Richard Wedekind; Lipika Sen; Prabhjyot Majithia; Jeff Thompson and others.

Comments are closed.